asparagus season

Veggies are my thing. Don’t get me wrong, I love meat too…it’s just that a day cannot go by without some form of vege in it. I think that maybe I was a Catholic in my past life given the amount of guilt I can conjure up at the drop of a hat…and I feel guilty if I don’t eat veggies each day. Thank god I love them!

Asparagus is near the top of the list of veggie greats. Like most veggies, I really only like to eat it during it’s brief, yet sweet, season. Fortunately the French are big consumers – of both the white and green varieties. There’s also a wild version which looks to me like an overgrown piece of wheat grass or something like that. I wasn’t convinced enough to try it myself…so lucky me when it was served up on G’s plate at the most fantastic restaurant I’ve been to for a long time (Sola in the 5eme, Paris). It was SO damned good – all of it – I was still remembering it the next day…if you are in Paris, GO…really quickly before the masses find out about it!

OK so I digress (but that was a necessity). Back to the asparagus…I have a bunch in my fridge. And tonight I feel like something lighter for dinner. So I’m going to keep it simple – steamed asparagus lightly dressed with lemon juice and olive oil (and perhaps some of the baby new potatoes I picked up at the marché last week), a poached egg, shavings of Parmesan, a sprinkle of chives and finished off with some of my precious truffle oil! That’s it, and I know it’s going to be delicious.

About tfyvie

A foodie kiwi living in London - on the constant search for the next best restaurant, recipe, food trend
Gallery | This entry was posted in Ingredients, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

